Fall Travel-Where to Go?


Image

Mmmmm fall…my favorite season! I just love the crispness in the air, the fresh smell, and the warm mosaic of fall colors. Caramel apples, pumpkins, leaves of every color…the list could go on and on.

In a couple weeks, a friend and I plan to travel to Door County, Wisconsin to explore the wonders of Door County in fall. In summer the lush foliage, sparkling lakes, and abundant wildlife far exceeded my expectations. I had always been told Door County was a beautiful place, but I had to see it to believe it. But I have been told that Door County is a whole new magical place in the fall. Just imagine being surrounded by the reds, oranges, and yellows of changing leaves and the natural scents of the changing seasons. I cannot wait to experience it myself!

My question is, does anyone have any suggestions of any Door County must-sees? Certainly I plan on heading to Peninsula State Park, but aside from that I am not sure where to sight-see.

And aside from Door County, does anyone have any suggestions of other locations in the United States to visit during the fall? I would love to visit the mountains of course…but where? Any opinions are much appreciated!

Expect photos from my Door County fall visit in a few weeks!

Thank you so much for reading my blog! Be sure to follow @DoCoTraveler on Twitter and “like” Door County Traveler on Facebook!

3 comments on “Fall Travel-Where to Go?

  1. designbytess says:

    I am a huge fan of Cave Point County Park – it changes daily and never gets old! Another cool place is the Anderson Dock/Hardy Gallery in Ephraim. If you bring your own paint you can add to the building.
    I’ve camped at every park up there, stayed in a yurt, hit up four different hotels, and still manage to find something new every time i go there.

    The road to the Washington Island ferry ((Northport Pier)) is gorgeous and windy and great for pictures.
    Downtown Sturgeon Bay has a bunch of fish statues, each decorated differently, and the shops are always fun to browse. There are a ton of winerys, make time for those, and now a Vodka distillery at the Door Peninsula.

    I always hit up the Frykman Gallery because the owners are sweet and their work is always changing.
    Also, try the soup at Czarnuszka Soup Bar, stop by the Blue Dolphin and Rusty Rabbit Shops also in Ephraim, and go to Sweetie Pie’s in Fish Creek.

    and enjoy every minute of it :0)

    • Wow, thank you so much! These are such great suggestions. There was only so much I could explore during the three months that I was there, and I regret not making the time to see more than I did. Cave Point is one of my favorites (and Whitefish Dunes right next to it), so I definitely will visit there again this fall and take some photos.

      I love the “bring your own paint” idea. I really think I will have to do that too!

      And let’s be honest, now I really want to visit all of your suggestions and am making note of them as I write. I’ve been to a few wineries and the vodka distillery, downtown Sturgeon Bay, and the Rusty Rabbit Shops. I’ve always seen Sweetie Pie’s, but I’ve never actually stopped there. Ahhh now I am very excited! Thank you so much for your reply. It is very much appreciated!

Leave a Reply

