The Path Less Traveled-Door County

Mission Accomplished. 

One of my main missions in my trip to Door County was to find the “windy road” that I saw in a picture on Pinterest. I wanted to experience it myself and take my own pictures of it. 

Luckily, the girl I traveled with knew exactly what road I was talking about and where to find it. 

The road is located at the very northern tip of Door County. All you have to do is follow the signs to the car ferry to Washington Island, and BAM there is the windy road! Here are my photographs!Image

ImageImageImage

9 comments on “The Path Less Traveled-Door County

  1. Atticus says:

    Beautiful. Fall is certainly here.

  2. Gracie says:

    These are beautiful. Brilliant colors!

  3. Sara says:

    You got some great shots of this road! Beautiful!

  4. You were here earlier than I was this year; we missed the peak of the leaves, but I love this road because it leads to my island! You need to check out Washington Island when you get a chance; it’s awesome! Great blog BTW!

  5. BDWIRunner says:

    Years ago this road was even more picturesque. It was originally laid out by the landscape architect Jens Jensen. The first road was much narrower and the curves were more severe. It was designed to follow the natural contours of the land. Prior to the ferry moving operations from Gills Rock the the telephone lines ran right over the top of the road. The poles were placed on the inside of the curves and it created the illusion of a slalom course.

Leave a Reply

